VILLAGE OF ORLAND PARK

14700 S. Ravinia Avenue Orland Park, IL 60462 www.orlandpark.org



Meeting Minutes

Monday, August 19, 2024

6:00 PM

Village Hall

Committee of the Whole

Village President Keith Pekau Trustees, William R. Healy, Cynthia Nelson Katsenes, Michael R. Milani, Sean Kampas, Brian Riordan and Joni Radaszewski

CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL

The meeting was called to order at 6:00 P.M.

Deputy Village Clerk Alexandra Snodsmith was present.

- **Present:** 5 President Pekau; Trustee Healy; Trustee Nelson Katsenes; Trustee Milani and Trustee Kampas
- Absent: 2 Trustee Riordan and Trustee Radaszewski

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

2024-0632 Approval of the August 5, 2024, Committee of the Whole Minutes

I move to approve the Minutes of the Regular Meeting of the Committee of the Whole of August 5, 2024.

A motion was made by Trustee Nelson Katsenes, seconded by Trustee Kampas, that this matter be APPROVED. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 4 - President Pekau, Trustee Healy, Trustee Nelson Katsenes, and Trustee Kampas

Nay: 0

Abstain: 1 - Trustee Milani

Absent: 2 - Trustee Riordan, and Trustee Radaszewski

ITEMS FOR SEPARATE ACTION

2024-0625 The Orland Park Police Department's Biannual Awards Ceremony, Badge Pinning and the Swearing in of Recently Certified Police Officers and New Sergeants

Mayor Pekau and Chief Eric Rossi honored members of the Orland Park Police Department and community members for their heroic and selfless actions that took place from January 1, 2024 through June 30, 2024.

Recently promoted Commander Dave Ziolkowski had his badge pinned on him by his wife Joanna.

Recently promoted Commander Scott Lefko had his badge pinned on him by his father Joseph.

Recently promoted Lieutenant Kerry Kelly-Valan had her badge pinned on her by her father William.

Recently promoted Lieutenant Krystina Fitzgibbon had her badge pinned on her

by her husband, Lieutenant William Fitzgibbon.

Additionally, Dave O'Connor, the Chairman of the Board of Fire and Police Commission swore in recently promoted Sergeant Doug Kein, Sergeant Mark Kenn and Sergeant Ron Ahrendt along with five (5) new officers, Liam Moran, Patrick Murray, Mallory Janozik, Daneisha Goodman, and Angel Estrada.

Mayor Pekau had comments. (refer to audio)

This item was a presentation. NO ACTION was required.

ROLL CALL

Trustee Riordan joined the meeting at 6:27 P.M.

ADJOURNMENT: 6:32 P.M

A motion was made by Trustee Kampas, seconded by Trustee Nelson Katsenes, that this matter be ADJOURNED. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 5 - President Pekau, Trustee Healy, Trustee Nelson Katsenes, Trustee Milani, and Trustee Kampas

Nay: 0

Absent: 2 - Trustee Riordan, and Trustee Radaszewski

2024-0708 Audio Recording for August 19, 2024, Board of Trustees Meeting

NO ACTION

/AS

APPROVED:

Respectfully Submitted,

Alexandra Snodsmith, Deputy Village Clerk